IBAN transfers in & out

I will give 3 solid reasons why IBAN transfers would improve my banking experience:

• It will allow me to connect my online store with big payment gateways like https://www.braintreepayments.com/, Mollie and Mondido. Because you can only use them if you have a bank account with an iban number.
    I don’t have another business bank account (high street banks denied me because I’m a non-uk resident and my business is all online) so I am unable to connect with any of those payment gateways.
    Note: braintree only allows iban accounts located in the same country as the business is registered (so it has to be a UK IBAN). I don’t know about the others.

• It will allow for easy payroll to directors/employees that have a personal bank account outside the UK.

• Paying international suppliers will be easier if card payments aren’t an option.

Please implement Tide :wink:

I was told by a Dutch bank that that is now illegal under SEPA Regulations for companies and employers to discriminate against IBAN from other Eurozone countries.

Not accepting a foreign IBAN is actually a violation of European law (Art. 9 of Regulation No 260/2012). Merchants in the SEPA region are obliged to accept any SEPA country IBAN. So are SEPA region employers (for deposits to your salary account). An IBAN can start with EE, FR, ES, IE, or any other valid first 2 letters. So-called “IBAN discrimination” is forbidden.

In the Netherlands there is even an official helpdesk run by banking regulators ( meldpuntibandiscriminatie@dnb.nl ) to contact to report those companies who are refusing to accept foreign IBAN.

Why don’t you try Stripe for you online store? We use stripe i highly recommend it.

Tide hasn’t yet specified the origin country of future IBANs. Most virtual account providers issue the ones that start with “DE”.